No Thanks

Your 10% Off Promo Code is on the Way! Thanks for signing up for emails.

You're now signed up to receive exclusive deals and savings opportunities!

Thanks again for connecting with us. Keep an eye on your inbox — your first coupon is on its way!

Thank You! This email address is already signed up

You are signed up for the following:

  • Offers
  • Recipes
  • E-Newsletter
  • Updates & Reminders

Thank you for your interest and be assured that you will continue to receive our emails at this address.

Look for your next communication from us within the next week.

Oops!

We are having trouble processing your request.

Our apologies!

Please try again later.

Swanson Superior Herbs

DGL (Licorice)

Item | SWH154

$6.79
20% OFF
$8.49
Qty
Size
385 mg 180 Chwbls
 

Customers Also Viewed

Supplement Facts

Serving Size 2 Chewable Tablets

Servings Per Container 90

  Amount Per Serving % Daily Value
Deglycyrrhizinated Licorice (DGL) Root Extract (Glycyrrhiza glabra) 770 mg *
Glycine 100 mg *

*Daily Value not established.

Other ingredients: Erythritol, xylitol, stearic acid, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, calcium palmitate, maltodextrin, silica, rebaudioside A, oil of peppermint.

Suggested use: As a dietary supplement, chew two tablets before each meal.

  • Helps soothe the stomach



  • Coats and protects the lining of the esophagus, stomach and intestinal tract



  • No sucrose


If you’re looking for a DGL supplement to both boost your health in a number of useful ways Swanson DGL licorice tablets are a great choice at an excellent value. Throughout the centuries, deglycyrrhizinated licorice (DGL) has been used by a number of cultures, as it was believed to be able to aid the body’s defense against a number of ailments. In fact, large amounts of licorice were discovered in King Tut’s tomb, presumably, so he could use it in the afterlife. Today DGL licorice extract is used by many to provides specific support for sensitive gastrointestinal tissues by providing a protective coating for the mucosal lining of the esophagus, stomach, and intestinal tract.

Terms and Ingredient Definitions

Shipping Weight: .41 lbs

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

 
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not to my liking Unfortunately, I did not like the taste of the DGL.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a fan Tastes awful, but I suppose that means it has no artificial flavorings. It doesn't seem to help.
Date published: 2018-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible taste and texture! These tablets used to have a pleasant, slightly minty taste! Evidently a new vendor was used and they are now chalky and taste terrible! Go back to your previous supplier before you lose more customers! I will not reorder until Swansons announces they have returned to the old tablets!
Date published: 2018-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great price by quality, quantity, test end etc the best in America so far!
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst DGL I’ve tasted I have tried several DGL products over the years and settled on Swanson’s product for the taste and price. However sometime between last September and now their formula has changed and the taste is horrible. I return my last order it because it was not edible.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What a letdown I have been ordering this product for several years now. I had been satisfied with this Swanson brand of DGL Licorice until my last shipment. It was a different batch and the taste was just horrible. Needless to say I will not be ordering this particular brand from Swanson in the future. Really makes you gag.
Date published: 2018-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff, Good Price Easy to take. Tastes good. Works well.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like this product I have used this product for years and will continue to
Date published: 2016-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product I can't do without is... Deglycyrrhizinated licorice root extract is a very safe way to keep a calm stomach. Look it up!
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very effective product DGL helped my wife very well and fast
Date published: 2015-09-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Used to be good, but now..Yuck! I have ordered this product many times in the past. It HAD a great flavor (almost a sweet minty taste) and worked quite well. The last bottle tastes like salt. I threw it out and am very leery about buying this again. I know Swanson stands behind their products and if something is wrong they quickly send a replacement as they did with the "Real Cinnamon" without even asking. Being that I never heard anything or received a replacement, I have to imagine this was the intended, disgusting taste. For the record, this is my first negative review of a Swanson product. I'm a loyal customer and sad to have to write this.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from dgl dgl is great for indigestion it seems to calm my tummy down and has many other beneficial qualities for supporting digestion. I get the kind with peppermint in it because without it I do not like the flavor. I would have rated this product higher but my last two bottles did not taste as good as they usually do and I haven't been able to get a response from Swanson on exchanging the product. I have ordered it for years and the taste has been consistent until my last two bottles. my last bottle tastes so bad I can't take it.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nasty New Taste I've ordered these for several years and I liked the sweet peppermint taste. I just started a new bottle I bought in Feb 2014 and they are awful tasting. They still have a peppermint smell but as another reviewer noted they have a nasty aftertaste that really stays with you. What happened?! They also have a darker color than the last tablets I ordered. I thought it might be just a bad bottle so opened the second bottle and they were the same. Yuck! Bring Back the Sweet.
Date published: 2014-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and Effective DGL by Swanson has a great licorice taste. I dissolve two tablets in my mouth 5-10minutes before meals. It assists my digestion by absorbing surplus stomach acids.
Date published: 2014-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't be beat I like the taste better than any other type/brand I have tried. And, as everyone knows, it's almost impossible to beat Swanson's brand price :-)
Date published: 2014-05-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from DGL Licorice This item would have tasted better without the mint flavoring. After the initial first chews, it tasted nasty. I also got diarrhea and was unable to use.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the Job This product delivers as promised, is easy to take and tastes good.
Date published: 2014-04-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DGL chewables These seem to be a great product, but somebody had the bright idea of adding peppermint oil to them, supposedly to make them taste good. It is awful! Peppermint and licorice together equal bitter and almost unbearable! I've decided to keep them rather than go through the process of returning them, but I'll never get these again. The Enzymatic Therapy brand is very good, and I'll stick with them from now on.
Date published: 2014-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great For Tummy And To Relax Too Hi! This supplement does help my tummy troubles as indicated but I discovered that it also is great for relaxing before bedtime or at any other time. I started with 2 tablets per dose but now use 6. The taste is a mixture of the mint oil it contains with a bit of sourness but I got this sour taste only at the beginning of using it. I highly recommend this product. Remember to eat right and do your own part as well to relax. No supplement can take the responsibility for your health off your hands.
Date published: 2014-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tames Your Tummy This is the most effective thing I've tried for occasional indigestion. I've been using it for more than a decade and I couldn't imagine being without it when tummy troubles arise.
Date published: 2013-11-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DGL I do not like the new DGL tablets offered by Swanson. They are about one third the size of the original and they are very hard to chew. The original tablets were larger and softer and much easier to chew. The original tablets were tasty. The new tablets taste like hard cardboard.
Date published: 2013-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Product! This is a favorite of mine to take before indulging in anything spicy. A good price too!
Date published: 2013-05-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from didnt work for me I tried this product because it was a slightly better value than the dgl from puritan. What a mistake!! After a couple weeks of use my stomach issues returned. I switched back to puritan and all is good again. In addition I prefer the black licorice flavor offered by the puritan brand. The dgl from swanson has a mint flavor and a much softer texture. Unfortunately it didn't work for me but Swanson was great and refunded my purchase.
Date published: 2013-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DGL Licorice (reformulated???) I have been bying the DGL by Swansons for quite a while. I put up with the taste because it worked! It tasted a little like dirt and a lot like licorice. The other day, when my new vitamin shipment came in, I popped a couple of the DGL tablets into my mouth and was pleasantly shocked and amazed at the new and vastly improved DGL. They taste exactly like...peppermint. I don't taste any dirt or licorice anymore. I can't speak highly enough about the new taste!
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has Really Helped Me I chew 1 or 2 tabs before or after meals and I feel much more comfortable and with less fullness. These tabs have a fresh sweet mint taste at first then a slight licorice taste after you chew them. I lightly chew them with my front teeth so they don't get stuck in my back teeth. I want the product in my stomach not in my teeth. Also, very convenient product as I can chew one anytime. Highly recommend.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Taste I love the peppermint taste and know that my body also favors the good effects that God put into the mint.
Date published: 2013-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This product was purchased in place of NOW DGL as NOW DGL was out of stock. It is an excellent product. The flavor is minty and it is as effective if not more so than the NOW DGL. Highly Recommended.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but....... I really don't like the peppermint oil added to the DGL. When I am finished with this bottle I will go back to another brand without this.
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy to see the changes to DGL Thank you swanson for the changes you made in the taste of the DGL. 5 months ago it tasted like mold and smelled like mildew. And now the cross between Stevia and Peppermint the product is ideal. Now I can highly recommend this !
Date published: 2011-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product I think this is a good and effective product. The tablets are easy to chew, are crunchy, naturally sweet and good tasting. They are deglycyrrhizinated so they shouldn't raise B.P. I take for gastrointestinal improvement and found it to be effective. Just don't take more than suggested, I developed headaches when taking more than suggested.
Date published: 2011-08-14
  • y_2019, m_12, d_7, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_SWH154, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_swansonhealth
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Q: Why does the color and smell seem to be different than my last order?

A: Natural color variations can occur from batch to batch. Botanical ingredients have a distinct and earthy odor noticeable after opening the bottle.

Swanson Health started in 1969 in Fargo, ND with a mission to offer pure and potent health products at a great value. Nearly 50 years later, we continue to innovate science-backed vitamins and supplements, delivering wellness solutions that help people live simply healthier together, and find vitality at any age. Click here to learn more about us.

For nearly 50 years, Swanson Health's research and development team has delivered science-backed health and wellness products to people around the world. Our innovation is guided by clinical research, scientific consensus, emerging research and usage traditions, creating products that help you find vitality at any age. At Swanson, we don't hide our science behind proprietary formulas — we believe in easy-to-read, transparent labelling. What's printed on our labels, is exactly what you'll find in our products.

Swanson Health's purity and potency testing begins with our ingredient sourcing, continues through manufacturing, and goes beyond when a product hits the shelf. Our testing exceeds industry standards, ensuring each product meets our quality guarantees for purity and potency. Swanson facilities are Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) certified, and we voluntarily participate in third-party, independent laboratory testing. With Swanson, you can be sure you're getting the most pure and potent health products at a great value. Click here to learn more about our quality standards.

®

Easy Refill

  • Get your favorite products delivered automatically
  • 10% off future orders of Swanson brand products in your subscription
  • FREE standard shipping on all future orders over $50
  • Control the frequency, delivery date, item quantity... or cancel at any time
  • Email reminders before each delivery
See all FAQs here