No Thanks

Your 10% Off Promo Code is on the Way! Thanks for signing up for emails.

You're now signed up to receive exclusive deals and savings opportunities!

Thanks again for connecting with us. Keep an eye on your inbox — your first coupon is on its way!

Thank You! This email address is already signed up

You are signed up for the following:

  • Offers
  • Recipes
  • E-Newsletter
  • Updates & Reminders

Thank you for your interest and be assured that you will continue to receive our emails at this address.

Look for your next communication from us within the next week.

Oops!

We are having trouble processing your request.

Our apologies!

Please try again later.

Swanson Premium

Valerian Root

Item | SW506

Serving Information

  • Serving Size: 2 capsules
  • 950 mg Per Serving
  • 50 Servings Per Container
  • Caps Size: 0
$2.63
20% OFF
$3.29
Qty
Size
 

Supplement Facts

Serving Size 2 Capsules

Servings Per Container 50

  Amount Per Serving % Daily Value
Valerian Root(Valeriana officinalis) 950 mg *

*Daily Value not established.

Other ingredients: Gelatin, microcrystalline cellulose (plant fiber).

Suggested Use: As a dietary supplement, take one to two capsules with water one hour prior to bedtime.

WARNING: May cause drowsiness. Do not use while driving or operating heavy equipment. Do not take this product if you are pregnant or nursing. Consult your healthcare provider before use if you are taking prescription medications, especially sedatives or tranquilizers.

  • Promotes a feeling of calmness and relaxation



  • Supports restful, restorative sleep



  • May help promote relaxation and ease nervous tension


Swanson Valerian Root is one of the world's premier herbs dedicated to relaxing your mind to promote rest and rejuvenation. Each capsule features 475 mg of pure valerian root for effective, restorative relaxation.

Terms and Ingredient Definitions

Shipping Weight: .21 lbs

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

MSRP: $5.99

For our website and catalog, the MSRP is the "Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price." The MSRP is understood to mean the price at which a manufacturer will recommend a retailer sell a product for in stores, on the internet, or in catalogs. The MSRP of National brand items are dictated to Swanson by each manufacturer. For Swanson brand items, the MSRP is calculated based on a varying percentage above the product's base price.

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Valerian Root Rules! This is an excellent product and completely fulfills its' intent!
Date published: 2019-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lower dose Disappointed that the dose reduced to 475mg, prefer 950 mg.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Use it for a lot of years. Was good quality. But now doesn't feel valerian smell and doesn't work.
Date published: 2019-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's working effectively. Just started using it daily in the evening and it is effective and strong, will keep on using it.
Date published: 2019-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Swanson's Valerian Root Over the years I have tried several different things, but Valerian Root works the best, and Swanson's is nicely priced too.
Date published: 2019-02-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nerves I will continue to use valerian it's a fantastic aid for rough days
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from use valerian root nightly i tried v root and now use it nightly, like it and had no problems with using it for years now. i use it with melatonin and i switch off and on, 1 valerian root cap and 1 melatonin, or i switch and use 2 valerian root caps or 2 valerian root and less melatonin, or some nights i take none of them. the next night i start all over.
Date published: 2017-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works ok, smells like fertilizer This helps me relax, especially if I'm still buzzing on caffeine and need to get a good night's rest. I take this in conjunction with some peppermint tea, and sometimes with 30mg of Melatonin if I need to go to bed quicker than usual. The main gripe I have with it is that it really smells like fertilizer. Not sure if that's normal or this was a bad batch. I have to hold my breath every time I open the container and when taking the pills.
Date published: 2017-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works gr8 this sure help me to sleep and relax along with my melotonin
Date published: 2016-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recomend It works just likes it supposed to.
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not sure Valerian root stinks so bad it's almost impossible to gag it down. Upsets my stomach. Don't really know if it works as expected as a sleep aid because could only take 1. So, 1 didn't put me to sleep & i would not recommend it. Sorry
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked too well This is my first time ever using Valerian root. The prescribed dosage (2 caps) was a little too strong for me. I felt very fatigued & drained the next day & thought maybe it was too much for me. However, when I took only one capsule it seemed to work better for me. I slept well & woke up feeling rested.
Date published: 2015-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better sleep Taking this valerian root helps me to fall asleep and stay asleep all night. I feel refreshed and ready for my day without any sluggishness.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Valerian Root If you want to relax and have a good night's sleep, take this. Works for me. 'nuff said.
Date published: 2015-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps with sleep My husband has tried several products to help him sleep through the night, including melatonin. Valerian root seems to help him the most.
Date published: 2014-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It did not smell badly. And in this case, that's NOT a good thing. Anyone who has taken better quality Valerian knows it smells plain foul and when I opened up this bottle, prepared to control my gag reflex, I was disappointed because it hardly smelled at all. Because of the success I've had with other Swanson products and the price, I ordered three bottles to use to get to sleep. I've found them to be very weak compared to the brand I switched from. They aren't nearly as sedating in the same dose. The smell of quality Valerian is truly awful but it works well enough that I can overlook it. I take the fact that Swanson's Valerian hardly has an aroma as proof of low quality herb source and maybe the use of filler. I was very disappointed.
Date published: 2013-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great i bought these for my husband who has some trouble staying asleep, he takes these with Swanson Sleep Essentials and they really help him feel rested in the morning
Date published: 2013-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great relaxer Purchased to help sleep. I had tried the melatonin and had bad dreams. The valerian root is working great. No side effects of bad dreams or hangover in the morning, no upset stomach from taking, just some nice relaxed hours to sleep.
Date published: 2013-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent sleep aid I take this every night about an hour before bed and it really helps me fall a sleep.
Date published: 2013-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I bought it for my husband to helping to sleep and so far it is working with 5htp and triptophan.
Date published: 2013-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sleep well very nice when its hard to sleep. and even if its not
Date published: 2013-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from best I've tried Swanson's valerian root is the best I've used to help me sleep when I'm unable to go to sleep. Effective and has no bad smell.
Date published: 2013-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great! I have a hard time falling asleep when I work late so I take 2 of these and within 45 minutes I am relaxed and ready for bed. I didn't want to take sleeping pills and this is the perfect alternative. If you need help unwinding and getting to sleep at night give this a try.
Date published: 2013-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best one ive been using this for years, its refreshing knowing im now putting something natural in my body to sleep, i feel better, and its better for me than not so natural stuff. swanson always seem to have the best deals on vitamins and suppliments.
Date published: 2013-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Have used this for years. It's been very effective, low cost, and I wake up refreshed and energetic.
Date published: 2013-06-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did nothing for me. I really had high hopes that this would help me sleep, especially after reading the reviews. Unfortunately it did nothing for me at all.
Date published: 2013-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Valerian Root I take one pill at night to help me to sleep and feel relax the next day. Very good product and price.
Date published: 2013-05-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Valerian Root Tea I recomend this product to all my friends who cannot sleep. Priced right. I only take it when I absolutly cannot fall asleep. Try it on a weekend. I take it and fall asleep within 15 minuetes. Love it!
Date published: 2013-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn't help me sleep I bought this product because I need help getting to sleep and it didn't help at all. I have tried Valerian before but a different brand and it helped me in the past. So I bought Swanson's brand because it is a good price but it didn't work for me. I did feel relaxed but not sleepy. I started with one at night and then took two at night and didn't notice any difference.
Date published: 2013-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love this stuff, just wish I didn't need to take it to sleep.
Date published: 2013-05-08
  • y_2019, m_10, d_13, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_76
  • loc_en_US, sid_SW506, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_swansonhealth
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 4ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

FAQ

Q: Why does the color and smell seem to be different than my last order?

A: Natural color variations can occur from batch to batch. Botanical ingredients have a distinct and earthy odor noticeable after opening the bottle.

Swanson Health started in 1969 in Fargo, ND with a mission to offer pure and potent health products at a great value. Nearly 50 years later, we continue to innovate science-backed vitamins and supplements, delivering wellness solutions that help people live simply healthier together, and find vitality at any age. Click here to learn more about us.

For nearly 50 years, Swanson Health's research and development team has delivered science-backed health and wellness products to people around the world. Our innovation is guided by clinical research, scientific consensus, emerging research and usage traditions, creating products that help you find vitality at any age. At Swanson, we don't hide our science behind proprietary formulas — we believe in easy-to-read, transparent labelling. What's printed on our labels, is exactly what you'll find in our products.

Swanson Health's purity and potency testing begins with our ingredient sourcing, continues through manufacturing, and goes beyond when a product hits the shelf. Our testing exceeds industry standards, ensuring each product meets our quality guarantees for purity and potency. Swanson facilities are Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) certified, and we voluntarily participate in third-party, independent laboratory testing. With Swanson, you can be sure you're getting the most pure and potent health products at a great value. Click here to learn more about our quality standards.

®

Easy Refill

  • Get your favorite products delivered automatically
  • 10% off future orders of Swanson brand products in your subscription
  • FREE standard shipping on all future orders over $50
  • Control the frequency, delivery date, item quantity... or cancel at any time
  • Email reminders before each delivery
See all FAQs here