No Thanks

Your 10% Off Promo Code is on the Way! Thanks for signing up for emails.

You're now signed up to receive exclusive deals and savings opportunities!

Thanks again for connecting with us. Keep an eye on your inbox — your first coupon is on its way!

Thank You! This email address is already signed up

You are signed up for the following:

  • Offers
  • Recipes
  • E-Newsletter
  • Updates & Reminders

Thank you for your interest and be assured that you will continue to receive our emails at this address.

Look for your next communication from us within the next week.

Oops!

We are having trouble processing your request.

Our apologies!

Please try again later.

shop / Beauty / Hair Color

Light Mountain

Color the Gray! Mahogany

Item | LTM003

$9.02
Qty
Size
 

Ingredients: Mahogany Henna (Lawsonia inermis and Indigoferae folium) and NOTHING ELSE.

Includes caps & gloves.

  • 100% pure botanical hair color



  • Mahogany



  • Contains henna



  • Ammonia free hair color


Featuring blends of premium grade henna, Light Mountain Natural Hair Color & Conditioner Color the Gray contains no peroxide, ammonia or other additives, chemicals, and is cruelty free. No other ingredients are used. This complete hair coloring kit contains all you need: premium grade henna, detailed instructions, a pair of disposable gloves, and a henna hat to assist you in "setting" the henna during the color treatment stage. Mahogany.

Terms and Ingredient Definitions

Shipping Weight: .54 lbs

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

MSRP: $11.95

For our website and catalog, the MSRP is the "Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price." The MSRP is understood to mean the price at which a manufacturer will recommend a retailer sell a product for in stores, on the internet, or in catalogs. The MSRP of National brand items are dictated to Swanson by each manufacturer. For Swanson brand items, the MSRP is calculated based on a varying percentage above the product's base price.

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lasting The convenience of using this product is not good, it is a two step procedure, but the lasting effect is really good. It is probably the best henna I have ever used and it stays in the hair much longer. If you don't mind the 2 step application then I would definitely use this as an alternative to chemical hair color.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Messy product This is my first time using this brand where the henna and indigo were separate treatments. I tried a different brand that had henna and indigo mixed together previously and it didn't cover the gray but it could be that I didn't use enough. Henna is messy no matter how you apply it. I had to use 2 packages because I have very long hair down to my lower back. I also added the amla from Swanson's. I don't have a lot of gray, but the black henna did change change the gray to a reddish color. I left it on longer than what the directions stated and used coffee instead of water. I then used the indigo color the next day and it turned the red strands black. Again, very messy and I used 2 boxes. It definitely covered all the grays. I really can't find any gray hairs now. My hair is already black but this did darken it more, which I like. I'm not sure if it's normal but each time that I've used henna treatment, which is a total of 3 times in my lifetime, regardless of the brand, the color comes off on my hands, skin, clothes, pillow cases, etc. It's been almost 2 weeks and the color is still coming off.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from auburn??? I will start this off by saying that I generally LOVE henna on my hair. As a conservative estimate, I would say I have used henna 50+ times, using many different brands (including Light Mountain regular henna) and colors and have always been pleased (to greater or lesser extent). I have not used anything on my hair in at least a year, and I noticed I was getting some grays around my face. Since my hair is naturally auburn, I decided to try this product to blend them in and add a little more red. What a mistake!! First of all, while step 1 was fine, step 2 smelled strongly of manure. Henna has a earthy, almost manure smell to it anyway, but NOTHING like this. It was stomach-turning! Secondly, while step 1 actually left a nice red hue behind, step 2 made my hair almost BLACK--and not a pretty, shiny black. It is a mousey/ashy black like I took a black sharpie to my hair. It is horrible! I even dug back into the trash to make sure i had not been sent the wrong color. The box and steps 1 & 2 bags were all labeled "auburn," so that was not the issue. I honestly don't know if I got a bad batch, or what, but I wanted to warn others. I will be spending my evening looking up and trying methods for henna removal...
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product! After 20 years of using chemical dyes, which thinned, weakened, burned and loosened my hair, I decided to give henna a try. First time I used it, I was a little dissapointed with the results because my white hair became too orange after the first step and the second step did not change it to a brown at all. My natural hair color, which is brown, remained the same, which was ecxactly what I wanted. Three weeks later, I dyed it again, and I used coffee instead of water for the second step. It's much better than before, the white hair is still orange, but it's darker, closer to brown. I'm sure I'll get just the right brown if I keep using the same henna color. I don't know if that helped or not, but I prepared the mixtures the night before I applied them to my hair, so they had plenty of time to set. I'm hooked with henna (and to Swanson!), not returning to chemicals for this reason anymore!
Date published: 2013-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gray Hair Be-gone THis product arrived in good time,and was well packed . Takes a while to apply to your head, but is really worth it for people who can't use regular hair dye. Color is true to form too. Price was right, I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Like coffee grounds This was the worst hair coloring I've ever used. It is extremely hard to do unless you have someone apply it for you. It does not stay on the hair, it falls out when you have to part hair to apply more. It also does not color like it should - I left it on for the full amount of time but I had to re-dye my hair again in a few days. It washed right out in the next shampoo. You may have to use the shampoo they recommend inside the package.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have been using Color the Gray for 2 years. I like the fact that it is totally natural. It covers my grey hair really well. I still find that it is a drag to use but once it is done, I am really happy with it.
Date published: 2012-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Natural Alternative I used to color my hair with over the counter drug store hair color but wanted to switch to something natural and non-toxic. This fits the bill and the color is much more natural looking than what I was using - no more darker ends. Yes, it's messy, but I only need to do it once every six weeks or so and I just make it my "spa time." I hope they never stop making this.
Date published: 2012-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more chemically-treated hair I echo all the positive reviews of this product I found here and elsewhere. I was nervous trying this product for the first time, and I did a lot of online research to see what risk I stood. What a pleasant surprise to see how natural my hair looked after using Light Mountain henna. I have strawberry blonde hair with light, porous ends (from chemically treating it). I used just Step 1 from this product to get that light strawberry colour for my greying and darker roots. I'm more satisfied with this product than I've been after paying over $100 for a very expensive salon visit. I actually really like the homespun feel of this product: you can tweak it, leave it on longer, modify. The smell didn't put me off at all: an earthy fragrance that was actually quite subtle and that I'd take any day over salon/ammonium products. I love this company. You can actually call them if you have questions, and they're really sweet.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I've been using "Light Mountain Color the Gray" for about two years. My favorite shade is Auburn. It is a two step process and is a little tricky at first to get the hang of. But it is well worth the extra time and mess. My hair so soft , shiny, and has a nice auburn hue. Sometimes it takes one or two shampoos before I can see all of the beautiful shine. I love this product and the price is good too.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good results I used this before and didn't get such good results. My white hair all turned red, which didn't look bad, but not what I was going for. I tried it again thinking maybe I did something wrong and this time, after reading the other reviews, follow the special effects section, put an egg in the second step to condition my hair, substituted coffee instead of water and threw in the coffee grinds along with the henna and this time it did get brown. I was thrilled that I no longer had to use chemical coloring and my hair came out totally healthy and shiny looking. The down side was, the grey virgin hair that I was trying to cover was more color resistant and came out a tad lighter and grayer than the rest, but still looked great, more like subtle streaks with brown grey and red highlights than a drastic separation. I read, in my research that henna gets deeper each time you use it, so I'm planning to do another coloring to add a second coat to the color resistant section. The second downer is that it took 3 hours with my head wrapped in a towel which I'm not looking forward to, but looking at the beautiful highlights, I'm sure my vanity will get the best of me.
Date published: 2011-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad Instructions I have a lot of experience with henna/indigo products for hair. The biggest problem with this product, which leads to dissatisfaction for many customers, is that the instructions are not very good. A two step process is often not even necessary to cover grey if the proper technique is used, and if the product is of high quality. There are very good instructions to be found for covering grey hair with henna and indigo on some henna websites. I was completely dissatisfied with this product the first time I used it. Now, after using other henna/indigo products, and gaining knowledge from other sources, I see that this product may actually be okay. I have not tried it again as of this time, however. The second problem is that the instructions somewhat misrepresent the contents of the box. There are two plastic bags in the box. One bag contains henna; the other bag actually contains indigo, which is alright, but is not henna at all. The third problem is that there is no harvest or packaging date on the product. A high quality henna and indigo product will list these dates, as the freshness of the product is critical to the effectiveness, and the strength of the dye will vary from crop to crop. Contrary to the instructions, there is no problem with using metal utensils with henna and indigo. Women have traditionally been using iron bowls in which to mix their henna and indigo products for many hundreds of years in many countries.
Date published: 2011-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommended to me by dermatologist I had severe scalp reactions to hair color..but was not ready to be gray.My dermatologist mentioned henna. I studied and read, and ended up with this product. The dark brown is exactly that..dark brown. If you were a dark brown true brunette when you were younger..that is the color you will be with this product. You will always see undertones of red with henna.Have patience. I only leave the step one on for 10-20 minutes. then rinse. It helps to run a basin of water and "dip/dunk" the hair(as if you were washing greens)as well as just running the water through the hair. I leave step two on for equal time. It takes about three shampoos over a weeks time to get all the henna out. The effects last four to five weeks. I love this product. Remember it is natural and will be different with everyone.
Date published: 2011-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from healthy coloring I bought this after the usual chemical hair color from drug/grocery stores caused a bald spot on two different occasions. My hair grew back but it's clear those chemicals are not exactly the healthiest things for you. This hair color is more work and you must follow directions exactly to make it work. But it's not toxic and far better for your hair. I'll stick to this natural option since I'd rather keep my hair.
Date published: 2010-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lots of Work, but worth it! Excellent price! Lots of Work, very messy, but worth the results. Having Step 1 & Step 2 Preparation is the key, Step 1 is what prepares the gray, Step 2 is the Henna. You need to leave henna on for 3 hours, but since I had a Heat Cap I only left Henna on for 1 hour and got the same results. I also used an egg and vinegar, when you read instructions you will see it mentions it. The egg helps with the condition, the vinegar helps with the color. This did color the gray and I am ordering 2 more bottles. Just be patience and allot yourself plenty of time. If you don't want the chemicals, then try this product.
Date published: 2010-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using light mountain henna for well over 16 years. I gave the quality a 4 because the black is gritty and very messy to keep on the hair - the red is a dream (it's a #5) - nice and creamy and not messy. I have asked about this and found out the red is organically grown the black is not.... The effectiveness was a 4 only because on gray hair the red has to be put on before the black and on my hair is very bright orange - if you do not get your hair covered completely in black and sit long enough - you can have patches or a cast that shows through with a red tint. However, for me, the red showing through in places is much better than my white hair mixed in with still a lot of very dark brown hair. It is a messy (the black) and time consuming - from my set up to clean up takes me 4 hours. (I leave the black on for 1 1/2 to 2 hours). I have the process down - old towels, covering floor, over edge of sink in bathroom - timer, glass bowls, plastic spoons, lots of gloves - I use 1 pair to put on the red - 1 pair to take off the red (since I'm in the shower already the gloves are cleaned so I reuse them on putting on the black) and the 3rd pair to take off the black. Make sure you read the instructions, have the correct supplies and go in knowing it will take some time but the less than $10 it costs for supplies would cost you $75 - $100 at a salon ! That's worth something! In my case I have to many allergies and sensitivities so I can not dye my hair (never have) but have used the wash out coloring at salons and I get major itching and what looks like 3rd degree burns on my scalp, neck and forehead. I point out I do not use the plastic bag on my color.....it makes a red rash around my forehead...it works best for me to leave uncovered....little itching afterward but not much. Lather up with vaseline around perimeter of hairline and ears and it won't stain your skin. Like I said....the black is messy and stains very dark so take your time and do it right. I personally leave the red on for 15 minutes and use a hair dryer for heat. Then the black goes on for 1 1/2 to 2 hrs. I premix and let the colors sit for 2 hours before hand - sometimes 1 hr for the red and when I get to the black it is almost 2 hours. I usually henna every 6 weeks at this point....years ago I could go 8 to 10 weeks. But overall the end result compared to what I started out with is so much better that it has to be done for me to feel better! I love completely white haired heads but mine is far from that but too far along not to do Henna. I hope this remains a product on the shelves forever. Just get the black in organic form, nice and creamy like the red -that's my only request.
Date published: 2010-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very dissappointed First of all the two step process is such an inconvenient process and it is VERY time consuming. Second of all, the dark brown that I purchased does NOT make the gray hair dark brown...not even a light brown. I was very diligent with the strand test which turned a satisfactory brown-red. Unfortunately, the whole head coloring did not reflect the strand test and turned just an auburn (more copper) color...no brownish hues at all. Also, I was very very careful and diligent about no metal containers or utensils during preparation and application. Thirdly, the second step henna is VERY difficult to apply and work with, as well as being VERY difficult and VERY hard to rinse out of the hair. Even using baking soda to rinse out, it is still hard to rinse out, and so much water had to be used to finally get all the henna out of the hair. I lost sooooo much hair trying to get all of the step two henna out of my hair. I can send you the saved wad of hair that I lost. And lastly, the coloring does NOT even last four to six weeks at all...more like four to six DAYS in my case. This in no way reflects on how great I think Swanson is and that I will always do business with them for their service, products and price!
Date published: 2010-06-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If I only knew about Henna sooner!!! This product is truly amazing, henna and indigo is the best colorant for the hair. Just be patient with this process the results are amazing. Your hair will be stronger after the first use. If your are a African American use a lot of conditioner after you rinsed step 2 out. I am transitioning from relaxer to natural truly amazing product . I will never put another chemical hair dye in my hair again. If I only knew about henna sooner I could have saved my shoulder length hair from breaking as the result of chemical dye and relaxers!! This
Date published: 2009-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a value! I've used henna for over 20 years. The product I used to use disappeared from the market recently. When I did an online search for henna, Swanson's name came up so I clicked through to the website, since I was already a customer. The package is twice the amount I used to get for the same price, and the quality of the henna is excellent. I use it to brighten up already red hair that is fading with age, and it looks completely natural. It's nice to be able to get all my favorite products at one provider's website, so Swanson is my preferred health product store.
Date published: 2009-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful results I had been "coloring" my hair professionally for years, finding it to "dry out" and thinning, due to all the chemicals. I then decided to use henna about three years ago, but recently found the same problems starting. I switched to Green Mountain Color the Grey and was thrilled at the grey coverage, plus the shine and body it gave my curly, thick waist length hair!My hair color is so natural, thicker and lasts longer than any other product I ever used. The process is a bit timely, but no more timely than going to a beauty palor!! I urge people to use this!!
Date published: 2009-03-29
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_LTM003, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_swansonhealth
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 3ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Swanson Health started in 1969 in Fargo, ND with a mission to offer pure and potent health products at a great value. Nearly 50 years later, we continue to innovate science-backed vitamins and supplements, delivering wellness solutions that help people live simply healthier together, and find vitality at any age. Click here to learn more about us.

For nearly 50 years, Swanson Health's research and development team has delivered science-backed health and wellness products to people around the world. Our innovation is guided by clinical research, scientific consensus, emerging research and usage traditions, creating products that help you find vitality at any age. At Swanson, we don't hide our science behind proprietary formulas — we believe in easy-to-read, transparent labelling. What's printed on our labels, is exactly what you'll find in our products.

Swanson Health's purity and potency testing begins with our ingredient sourcing, continues through manufacturing, and goes beyond when a product hits the shelf. Our testing exceeds industry standards, ensuring each product meets our quality guarantees for purity and potency. Swanson facilities are Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) certified, and we voluntarily participate in third-party, independent laboratory testing. With Swanson, you can be sure you're getting the most pure and potent health products at a great value. Click here to learn more about our quality standards.

®

Easy Refill

  • Get your favorite products delivered automatically
  • 10% off future orders of Swanson brand products in your subscription
  • FREE standard shipping on all future orders over $50
  • Control the frequency, delivery date, item quantity... or cancel at any time
  • Email reminders before each delivery
See all FAQs here