Agar Agar is one of those odd named foods that may confuse the “everyday shopper” who stumbles into the natural and organic foods section of the store. But Agar Agar Flakes are a very versatile ingredient that is vegetarian, gluten-free, and free of most common allergens!
Many people who know about Agar Agar use it as a thickening agent for a variety of deserts (often in place of gelatin), gravy, pudding, pie fillings, and many other foods. Since it’s derived from seaweed, most people don’t have to worry about food allergies when using it as a cooking substitute. Plus, the sea vegetables are readily available and reproduce quickly enough to make them a great renewable, eco-friendly resource.