Using Agar Agar as a Cooking Substitute

Tuesday, January 10, 2012 by Cassandra B.
Agar Agar flakesIf you are looking for a vegetarian gelatin, try agar agar (also referred to as "kanten"), which is a gelatin alternative made from sea vegetables. Agar agar usually comes in powder or flake form, although it can also be found in thread or bar form. Agar agar has no taste or color and can also be used for dieting or digestive support due to its 80% fiber content. Unlike animal gelatin, agar agar sets firmly at room temperature, making it a more versatile gelatin.

Use agar agar as a vegetarian alternative in desserts, custards, fillings, puddings, and more!

Have you tried agar agar? Tell us about it with a comment below!

comments powered by Disqus